Tri-County Race Track (Brasstown, North Carolina)

Austin Smith is finally a Southern Nationals Bonus Series winner. After being crowned the perfect attendance champion from the 2014 season and going winless on the tour, the 19-year-old from Cedartown, Ga. captured his first-career series victory at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, N.C. and picked up the $3,000 payday on Thursday Night July 9th during the annual “Independence Championship” race. (Chris Tilley Photo)

Smith rolled into victory lane while driving the Cedartown Electric, Engineered Systems and GW Performance-sponsored Clements Racing Engines-powered Capital Race Car.

New Track Record holder David Payne and Kenny Collins brought the field to life for the start of the 40-lapper in front of a packed house with Collins going to the early lead on the high side. Smith, who arrived late due to mechanical problems on his hauler, started 12th ahead of non-starters Shawn Chastain, Bo Eaton and Ronnie Payne. Smith had muscled his way from the tail to fifth by the fourth lap with Payne was breathing down the neck of Collins for the race lead.

By lap 15, Smith had rolled to the third spot and was knocking on the door for the second spot. By lap 26, Smith and Payne would do battle for the second spot while Collins tried to work around the slower car of George Mashburn.

On lap 28, Smith would go to the lead on the bottom before the caution came out fof Mashburn stopping. Smith would hold on to the point for the restart with Collins in hot pursuit on the topside. The yellow would wave again two circuits later and Collins wouldn’t have enough on the next restart to catch Smith. With eight laps to go, Jamie Oliver would make his move and slip past Payne for third. Smith would go on to the $3,000 triumph over Collins, Oliver, Payne and Aaron Ridley.

“It was fun for me, the race car was good and the race track was excellent, Ray (Cook) done a great job with the race track, I honestly thought it was going to be pretty dry as hot as its been, we really haven’t gotten much rain, or we haven’t down south, but he done a good job, the car was good, it was fun moving up through there,” stated Smith.

Racing with eventual runner-up Kenny Collins and David Payne was fun for Smith. “It’s always fun racing those guys you know me, Kenny and David we all race pretty clean, I seen them two catching that lap car and I thought here’s my opportunity and they kind of got caught up, we just got by them, I don’t know if we could have got by them in clear race track but oh well it doesn’t matter now,” chuckled Smith after the race. “Thanks to my Dad and everyone that helps me on the weekends they do a great job.”

Three caution flags slowed the main event. A debris caution fell on the first completed lap while Shawn Chastain slowed the field for the second yellow on lap 28. The last caution came out on lap 30 as George Mashburn came to a stop in turn one.

The next event for the Southern Nationals Bonus Series by Collins Signs will be on Saturday July 18th at the Richmond (KY) Raceway for the 28th annual Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial paying $10,028-to-win and $500-to-start.

Official Summary of Results
Feature Results of “Independence Championship” at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC on July 9, 2015:

Southern Nationals Bonus Series:
1. Austin Smith-Cedartown, Ga.
2. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
3. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
4. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
5. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
6. Ross White-Knoxville, Tenn.
7. George Mashburn-Murphy, N.C.
8. Shawn Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
9. Ashton Winger-Senoia, Ga.
10. Anthony Rymer-Copperhill, Tenn.
11. Glenn Barnett-Murphy, N.C.
12. Charlie Parker-Hayesville, N.C.
13. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, N.C. (Did Not Start)
14. Bo Eaton-Blue Ridge, Ga. (Did Not Start)
15. Ronnie Payne-Murphy, N.C. (Did Not Start)


Crate Late Model:
1) 7 Jason Deal
2) 14s Adam Smith
3) 88 Ricky Smith
4) 23 Barry Anderson
5) 24 Ryan Bryson
6) 32 Cody Gloyne
7) 31 Haven Stiles
8) 1 Jason Payne
9) 14 Sylvan Schuette
10) 17 Andy Morrow
11) h11 Larry Henderson
12) 22 Jamison Early
13) 3 Floyd Self
14) 88 Paydon Shook
15) 9m Dallas Manus


Interstate Welding Modified Street:
1) 14 Charles Devine, Jr.
2) 5 Kenny Taylor
3) 818 Jeffrey Wood
4) 34 Greg Suddereth
5) 22 Mike Bryson
6) 7 Danny McLeod
7) 44 Bobby Elkins
8) 79 Bradley Hurlburt
9) 21 Troy Turner
10) 50 Charles Devine, Sr.
DNS) j17 Ronnie Wren


Street Stock:
1) 17 Charles Toomey
2) t11 Ty Crisp
3) 27 Drew Bowers
4) 91 Marlin Gunter
5) 191 Brantley Stillwell
6) 3 Josh Deese
7) 55 Wayne McCall




1) 45 Brandon Elliott
2) 56 Jason Berrong
3) j22 Jamie Saunooke
4) 7 Jacob Garland
5) 11 Colt Thomason
6) 01 Billy Stuelke
7) 55 Jamie Cross
8) 8 Johnny McClure
DNS) 33 Cory Stansell
DNS) 74 DJ Worley



To View the Entire Gallery from July 9, 2015 - Visit Piña Pix Photography Website! -


|| home :: news :: schedule :: results :: points :: rules :: payouts :: tarheel 50 :: track info :: lodging :: contact ||

Home News Schedule Results Points Rules Payouts Tarheel 50 Track Info Lodging Contact Delph Communications Website! Southern Nationals Series Website! Ray Cook #53 Website!