Tri-County Race Track (Brasstown, North Carolina)

The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series would return to action on Friday evening at Ray Cook’s Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC and Clayton Miller of Elkton, KY would lead all twenty laps of the contest and pick up the $1,000 victory. The win by Miller was his second of the season and the sixth-career series victory for the Western Kentucky native and would behind the wheel of the Lexington Landscape, Hustler Lawn Care, Bryant Equipment, Wall Construction, Quick Car, Wyatt Johnson, Brucebilt Performance sponsored #15 Brucebilt Chassis, Kevin Fisher Race Engine powered entry.

Clayton Miller would take the lead at the start of the twenty-lap feature event, with Ryan Ayers and Jesse Rupe giving chase. Miller would pull away a bit until the first caution waved on lap eight when Dustin Diden would spin in turn two. The restart would see Miller maintain the race lead, with Ayers attempting to keep up, while Billy Palmer would close in on Jesse Rupe and begin to challenge him for the third position. Miller would stretch his lead to a full straightaway lead until fourth-place running Palmer would slow entering turn three and Wayne James would make contact with Palmer, with both drivers being finished for the event. The final restart would see Miller hold the lead, but Ayers would stay tucked up close to Miller, but Miller would keep Ayers at bay and score the win, with Ayers finishing second and Rupe coming home third. Amos Bunch, Rick Standridge, and Dustin Diden would complete the finishing order.

Clayton Miller 15 holds the edge over runner-up finisher Ryan Ayers on his way to the winner’s circle in a 20-lap Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series event. It was the Chris Tilley-promoted touring circuit’s second appearance of the season at the facility, and Miller’s second victory in two visits. (Brian McLeod photo)

Iron-Man Open Wheel Modifieds:
1) 15 Clayton Miller $1,000
2) 6 Ryan Ayers
3) 11 Jesse Rupe
4) 50 Amos Bunch
5) 10 Rick Standridge
6) 112 Dustin Diden
7) 36 Billy Palmer
8) 4 Wayne James

Shawn Chastain drove to victory over a 13-car field in a Super Late Model feature at Tri-County Racetrack in Brasstown, N.C. (Brian McLeod photo)

Super Late Models:
1) x15 Shawn Chastain $1,500
2) 38 Jamie Oliver
3) 1c Kenny Collins
4) 17 Kurt English
5) 51 Drew Deaver
6) 21 Will Harris
7) 56 Joey Standridge
8) 156 Andy Standridge
9) 1 David Conley
10) 8 David Payne
11) 11 Preston Crisp
12) 96 Bobby Panter
13) 34 Glenn Barnett

Using the low side in a close matchup with race leader Jacob Anderson (200) during the waning moments, Jesse Lowe (5J) earned a $2,000 victory in a PPM American Crate Late Model Series event at Tri-County Racetrack in Brasstown, N.C. The two drivers staged a tight duel for the checkered flag, and Lowe took the lead on the final circuit. (Brian McLeod photo)

American Crate All-Star Series:
1) 5j Jesse Lowe $2,000
2) 200 Jacob Anderson
3) 01 Blake Craft
4) 7 Jason Deal
5) 0 Ross White
6) 91 Heath Hindman
7) 002 Tyler Arrington
8) 109 Eli Beets
9) j39 Jimmy Elliott
10) 24w Seth Wimpey
11) b00 Josh Henry
12) 97 Aaron Guinn
13) 12 Drew Deaver
14) 15 Michael Smith
15) 66 Deke Waters
16) 52 Shannon Emery
17) 01w Jason Welshan
18) 24m Greg Martin
19) 8 Chris Chandler
20) 22 Jamison Earley
21) 4k Shannon Bearden
22) 68 Andy Ogle
23) 2x Anthony White
24) 7a Adam Ahl

Robert Elkins (44) and Richard Smith (88) staged a torrid late-race battle for the lead in the Modified Hobby feature at Tri-County Racetrack, and Elkins edged his fellow competitor by a car length at the stripe to secure the win. It was his first victory in his MasterSbilt Race Cars entry. Smith, who has four victories in the class this season, settled for runner-up honors at the high-banked oval. (Brian McLeod photo)

Modified Street:
1) 44 Bobby Elkins
2) 88 Ricky Smith
3) 20 Lynn Burchfield
4) 48 Colton Stroud
5) 34 Greg Sudderth
6) 25 Jacob Hamby
7) 81 John Howard
8) e7 Evan Wrinkle, Jr.
9) 56 Jason Berrong
10) m42 Roger Morrow
11) 99 Reese Stillwell
12) 50 Charles Devine
13) 45 Brandon Elliott
14) 35 Dillon Daves

Jim Twiggs (99) holds off Dylan Truhan (7D) in the earlier stages of a Street Stock feature at Tri-County Racetrack. Twiggs continued to his second victory of the season in the division. Truhan finished third in the 12-car field. (Brian McLeod photo)

Street Stock:
1) 99 Jim Twiggs
2) 67 Sam Jones
3) 7d Dylan Truhan
4) 5 Carson Shields
5) 7 Johnny Burnette
6) 21 Troy Turner
7) j69 Jim Weller
8) 29 Jason Leatherwood
9) 192 Jay Lynch
10) 01 Jacob Lynch
11) k3 James Klaucke
12) 05 Michael Harper

Kevin Mulkey (28) uses the low groove in a battle for second during a 20-lap Pony feature at Tri-County Racetrack. Mulkey snagged the runner-up slot from Crawford, and shortly thereafter passed three-time divisional winner Johnny McClure for the lead to post his first victory of the season. Crawford settled for a third-place showing. (Brian McLeod photo)

1) 28 Kevin Mulkey
2) 8 Johnny McClure
3) 15 Ryan Crawford
4) 727 Ballie Lowe
5) 22 Tucker Anderson
6) 104 Ricky Queen
7) 00 Cam Winkler

Up-and-coming driver Colton Berrong (56) slips underneath eventual runner-up finisher Dante Curtis (87) en route to his third Beginner 602 feature victory of the season at Tri-County Racetrack. (Brian McLeod photo)

602 Rookie:
1) 56 Colton Berrong
2) 87 Dante Curtis
3) 32b Franklin Burk
4) 149 Seth Speed
5) 32e Logan Exum
6) 29 Chris Thomas
7) 71s Shawn Haire

Justin Queen (32) took the honors in a Front Wheel Drive feature at the quarter-mile oval. It marked his third win of the season in the division at the high-banked facility. (Brian McLeod photo)

Front Wheel Drive:
1) 32 Justin Queen
2) k3 Sandi Klaucke
3) 401 Brent Lynch
4) 192r Robby Lynch
5) 01 Matt Murphy
6) 29 Sean Rice
7) 21 Stephen Godfrey
DQ) 18 Lucas Beaver
DQ) 18 Issac Hicks
DQ) 11 Jesse Crabtree



|| home :: news :: schedule :: results :: points :: rules :: payouts :: tarheel 50 :: track info :: lodging :: contact ||

Home News Schedule Results Points Rules Payouts Tarheel 50 Track Info Lodging Contact Delph Communications Website! Southern Nationals Series Website! Ray Cook #53 Website!