OCTOBER 6, 2011
Casey Roberts has CAPITAL Victory while Taming Tri-County for Tarheel Win!

By Chris Tilley

Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Georgia inherited the lead from Don O’Neal on lap 23 and never looked back en route to a $3,500 win at the Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC on Thursday Night October 6th during the Eighth Annual Ray Cook promoted Tarheel 53 event.

Roberts drove his Cushman Paint and Body sponsored entry to the $3,500 win. Roberts was debuting a new Capital Race Car prepared by Marshall Green and company. This was the first outing and it turned into a win for the # 101. ‘We were tickled to death with our new car’ stated Roberts in Victory Lane afterwards. Roberts talked about his win at Tri-County: ‘We had a really good race there, we really like racing with Jonathan (Davenport) and the caution came out there and saved us, it was just our night to win I guess’ stated Roberts who was all smiles in Victory Lane with his crew and family.

Fast Qualifier Don O’Neal and Ross Bailes brought the field of 20 to the green flag for the start of the 53-lapper. O’Neal jumped to the early lead with Bailes and Shawn Chastain in hot pursuit.

The first yellow came on lap eight as Eric Jacobsen came to a stop collecting Tommy Kerr. Both were sent to the tail on the restart. By the tenth circuit David Payne who started in the sixth spot had already challenged and came to the second spot.

The field would stay green until the 21st lap when the caution would wave as Preston Graves and Danny Ledford went around in turn four. They collected the two leaders Don O’Neal and David Payne. Payne had damage and went to the pits while O’Neal continued and went to the rear for the restart. On the restart the yellow would wave again as Billy Ogle spun in turn four. The next yellow would fly on the 24th lap as Randy Nichols spun in turn four collecting Jacobsen and George Mashburn.

During the green flag laps after lap 35, Jonathan Davenport who was on the move from the fifth starting spot was knocking on the back door of Roberts and was gaining speed. The caution would wave again on lap 39 for George Mashburn as he slowed and then on lap 41 as Tony Knowles slowed in turn two. Davenport was making his move on the 41st lap when the caution came out and Roberts was at the point for the restart. Davenport tried to get underneath for several laps but couldn’t make it stick until lap 44 when Davenport got up beside Roberts at the line to actually lead that lap, with Roberts pulling away in turn one. Davenport tried one last time to pass this time for the slider and went underneath Roberts in turn one with two laps to go then Roberts was able to go underneath and gain speed and lead again. Roberts held off Davenport for the win with Shawn Chastain coming home third, Johnny Chastain fourth and Don O’Neal who rallied from the tail back to finish fifth.

Roberts talked about his run with Davenport in the closing laps: ‘He (Davenport) done a slide job on us and we cut back under him, everything was clean, I guess when it’s your night it’s your night and we got it done tonight’ said Roberts in his pit after the win.

Official Summary of Results
‘Eighth Annual Tarheel 53 ‘
Tri-County Race Track-Brasstown, NC
Thursday Night October 6, 2011

Feature Finish:
1. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, GA
2. Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA
3. Shawn Chastain-Murphy, NC
4. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, NC
5. Don O’Neal-Martinsville, IN
6. Benji Cole-Canon, GA
7. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN
8. Ross Bailes-Clover, SC
9. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, TN
10. Brent Dixon-Elberton, GA
11. Ethan Hunter-Tiger, GA
12. Jacob Anderson-Murphy, NC
13. Randy Nichols-Young Harris, GA
14. Tony Knowles-Tyrone, GA
15. George Mashburn-Murphy, NC
16. Eric Jacobsen-Santa Cruz, CA
17. David Payne-Murphy, NC
18. Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN
19. Preston Graves-Murphy, NC
20. Danny Ledford-Warren, NC

Last Chance Race # 1 Finish: Johnny Chastain, Eric Jacobsen, Tommy Kerr, Skip Arp, George Mashburn, Danny Ledford, Preston Graves, Rodney Weeks, David McCoy, Glen Barnett, Jamie Oliver

Last Chance Race # 2 Finish: Casey Roberts, Shawn Chastain, Benji Cole, Billy Ogle Jr., Brent Dixon, Jacob Anderson, Randy Nichols, Joseph Payne, Steve Clark, Ryan King, Jonathan Cope

Fast Time: Don O’Neal-13:115 seconds
Entries: 28

Lap Leaders: O’Neal laps 1-21; Roberts laps 22-43, Davenport lap 44, Roberts laps 45-53
Cautions: Lap 8, 21, 21rs, 24, 39, 41


Limited/Crate Late Model:
1 4 Danny Ledford
2 33 Bobby Panter
3 27 Charlie Parker
4 5 Levi Hicks
5 8s Steven Sofield
6 32 Shannon Beardon
7 8 Jason Deal
8 41 Jamie Lundsford
9 55 Steve Richardson
10 96 Kevin Sutton
11 1 David Conley
12 19 Kevin Bradshaw
13 38 Jason Payne
14 Kip Cochron
15 74 Joey McCoy
16 xxx Bo Eaton
17 c38 David Conner
DNF 102 Clayton Turner
DNF 30 Devin Dilbeck


Interstate Welding Modified Hobby:
1 10 Kenny Barrett
2 1b Junior Whitener
3 17 Brad Thomas
4 34 Greg Suddereth
5 21 Robert Elkins
6 12 Brandon Dills
7 88 Ricky Smith
8 77 William Watson
9 1w Keith Roberson
10 03 Joe Griggs




To View the Entire Gallery from October 6, 2011 - Visit Marty Bingham's Website! -


|| home :: news :: schedule :: results :: points :: rules :: payouts :: tarheel 50 :: track info :: lodging :: contact ||

Home News Schedule Results Points Rules Payouts Tarheel 50 Track Info Lodging Contact Delph Communications Website! Southern Nationals Series Website! Ray Cook #53 Website!